Toto, an American rock band, made up of first-call session musicians from Los Angeles, California, was formed in 1977 by David Paich (pianist-vocalist), and Jeff Porcaro (drummer) who added David Hungate (bassist), Steve Lukather (guitarist-vocalist), Steve Porcaro (keyboardist), and Bobby Kimball (lead vocalist).

Africa,” from the 1982 “Toto 4” studio album, peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart on February 05, 1983, was led by David Paich and Bobby Kimball in the key of B major (B).

For the official website, see Toto.

Here is a partial list of Toto band members past and present.

Bobby Kimball
David Hungate
David Paich
Fergie Frederiksen
Jeff Porcaro
Joseph Williams
Mike Porcaro
Steve Lukather
Steve Porcaro


In 1977, Toto was formed in Los Angeles, California by David Paich and Jeff Porcaro who added David Hungate, Steve Lukather, Steve Porcaro, and Bobby Kimball.

In 1982, David Hungate left Toto, after the release of Toto 4, and was replaced by Mike Porcaro.

In 1984, Bobby Kimball left Toto and was replaced by Fergie Frederiksen.

In 1985, Fergie Frederiksen left Toto.

In 1986, Fergie Frederiksen was replaced by Joe Williams.

In 1987, Steve Porcaro left Toto and was never replaced.

In 1988, Joseph Williams left Toto.

In 1989, Joseph Williams was replaced by Jean-Michel Byron.

In 1991, Jean-Michel Byron left Toto, and Steve Lukather took over as lead vocalist.

Jeff Porcaro died on August 5, 1992, shortly after making the “Kingdom Of Desire” album, and was replaced by Simon Phillips.

In 1998, Bobby Kimball rejoined Toto.

In 2003, David Paich took a leave of absence from Toto to take care of an ailing family member.

In 2008, Bobby Kimball left again but was not replaced.

Steve Lukather left Toto on February 22, 2008, and Toto disbanded.

Toto reunited on February 26, 2010, and David Paich, Steve Lukather, Steve Porcaro, Joseph Williams, and Simon Phillips rejoined.

Fergie Frederiksen died on January 18, 2014.

In 2014, David Hungate rejoined Toto.

In 2014, Simon Phillips left Toto.

Mike Porcaro died on March 15, 2015.

In 2016, David Hungate left Toto.

In 2019, Steve Porcaro left Toto.


1978: Toto
1979: Hydra
1981: Turn Back
1982: Toto 4
1984: Isolation
1986: Fahrenheit
1988: The Seventh One
1990: Past To Present (1977-1990)
1992: Kingdom Of Desire

1990: Past To Present (1977-1990)
1992: Greatest Hits Live

Bobby Kimball: 1994: Rise Up
Bobby Kimball: 1999: All I Ever Needed
Bobby Kimball: 2016: We’re Not In Kansas Anymore
David Hungate: 1990: Souvenir
David Paich: 2022: Forgotten Toys
Joseph Williams: 1982: Joseph Williams
Joseph Williams: 1996: I Am Alive
Joseph Williams: 1997: 3
Joseph Williams: 1999: Early Years
Joseph Williams: 2003: Vertigo
Joseph Williams: 2006: Two of Us
Joseph Williams: 2006: Vertigo 2
Joseph Williams: 2007: Smiles
Joseph Williams: 2007: Tears
Joseph Williams: 2008: This Fall
Joseph Williams: 2021: Denizen Tenant
Mike Porcaro: 2011: Brotherly Love
Steve Lukather: 1989: Lukather
Steve Lukather: 1993: Candyman
Steve Lukather: 1997: Luke
Steve Lukather: 2003: Santamental
Steve Lukather: 2008: Ever Changing Times
Steve Lukather: 2010: All’s Well That Ends Well
Steve Lukather: 2013: Transition
Steve Lukather: 2021: I Found The Sun Again
Steve Porcaro: 2016: Someday, Somehow
Various Artists: 1984: Dune

Where do we go from here?
Back to Toto.
Go to Toto Songs.